SmartLivingBridge

Gear

LED Bulbs

the plainest thing here, and the one with the most prerequisites when it is smart

A bulb is the simplest object in this catalog until the word smart appears in its title. Five of the eight listings are plain bulbs that ask for a socket and a switch and nothing else; the smart ones name a network, an assistant or an app, and one of them names an assistant and rules out every other.

Each row reads left to right in a fixed order. A filled cell means the listing states that requirement; a dashed cell means the listing is silent where the requirement could apply; an outlined cell means the requirement does not come up. Every cell is named in words beside the row.

Smart bulbs

2 listings

The listings that put Smart in the title. Between them they name a Bluetooth app, a Wi-Fi band and a single assistant, and neither prints the whole of what the other asks for.

Amazon Basics Smart A19 LED Bulb, Color Changing, 9W, 800 LM

Most requirements stated among the bulbs

States 2 of the 6: a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network and an assistant, Alexa only. No other bulb listing states as many.

Amazon Basics Smart A19 LED Bulb, Color Changing, 9W, 800 LM

2 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networkstated
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

The listing prints its limit plainly: it works with Alexa only. It also wants a network named with its band, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and says no hub required, so the hub is the one thing that can stay on the shelf. No app is named, which leaves Alexa as the only way in, in the listing’s own words.

Operated by
A voice assistant

Stated

  • works with Alexa only, in so many words
  • Network named with its band: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
  • no hub required
  • 9W for a 60W equivalent at 800 lumens

Not stated

  • No app is named, so the app cell stays dashed
  • No other assistant, and the word only closes the question
  • No lifetime in hours printed for this bulb

Who it fitsA home that already answers to Alexa on a 2.4 GHz network, since the listing names both and offers nothing in place of either.

Listing on Amazon
Govee Smart Light Bulbs, A19 Color Changing, 800 LM, E26 Base

Only bulb naming an app

Among the eight bulb listings, only this one names app control.

Govee Smart Light Bulbs, A19 Color Changing, 800 LM, E26 Base

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantsilent
  • Phone and appstated
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

A color bulb that the listing says is run over Bluetooth and app control. Of the things a reader must already own, it names a phone app and stops there: no network band, no assistant. The screw base is an E26 base.

Operated by
An app

Stated

  • app control is the one way of operating it that the listing names
  • Bluetooth is named as the link to the phone
  • Brightness given as 800 lumens
  • Shape A19, on an E26 base

Not stated

  • No Wi-Fi and no band, so the network cell is dashed
  • No assistant, and the site does not supply one
  • No wattage and no lifetime for the bulb itself

Who it fitsA household where the phone is already the remote for most things and nobody expects to talk to a bulb.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingBaseWattsRequirements statedOperated by
Amazon Basics smart A19, Alexa onlynot stated9W2 of 6A voice assistant
Govee color A19, BluetoothE26not stated1 of 6An app

Left out because every listing in this group reads the same: color temperature (not stated); brightness (800 lumens); pack (not stated); dimming (not stated); lifetime (not stated).

Plain LED bulbs

5 listings

Bulbs that state a base, a color temperature and a watt figure or lumens, and nothing to connect. The empty cells on their rows are not missing features: those requirements do not come up. The dashed one is how long a bulb lasts, which one bulb listing here prints.

Amazon Basics A19 LED Bulbs, 60W Equivalent, 9W, E26, 2700K, 6-Pack

Only bulb stating a lifetime in hours

Among the eight bulb listings, only this one prints a 10,000 hour lifetime.

Amazon Basics A19 LED Bulbs, 60W Equivalent, 9W, E26, 2700K, 6-Pack

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

The plain bulb that answers the question the others skip: a 10,000 hour lifetime. A stated lifetime is the listing admitting the bulb is itself the part you will buy again, which is why this is the bulb that fills that cell. Otherwise it is 9W for a 60 watt equivalent on an E26 base at 2700K soft white.

Operated by
Nothing to control

Stated

  • a 10,000 hour lifetime is printed
  • 9W for a 60 watt equivalent
  • 2700K soft white on an E26 base
  • dimmable operation in a pack of six bulbs

Not stated

  • No lumen figure printed for this pack
  • No test basis given for the hours figure
  • No list of dimmers it has been paired with

Who it fitsSomeone who keeps a spare-bulb drawer and would like the listing to say when it will be opened again.

Listing on Amazon
FLSNT 60W Equivalent LED Chandelier Bulbs, E12, Clear B11, 2700K, 6 Pack

Only E12 base among the bulbs

The only bulb listing here that prints an E12 base.

FLSNT 60W Equivalent LED Chandelier Bulbs, E12, Clear B11, 2700K, 6 Pack

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

Chandelier bulbs on an E12 base, where every other base printed among these bulbs is E26. The listing gives a clear B11 filament candelabra shape, 2700K and dimmable operation, and asks for nothing that has to be set up.

Operated by
Nothing to control

Stated

  • Base: an E12 base
  • Shape: a clear B11 filament candelabra shape
  • a 60 watt equivalent at 2700K
  • six bulbs with dimmable operation

Not stated

  • No actual wattage beside the equivalent figure
  • No lumens and no rated life for the candelabra bulbs
  • No dimmer type named alongside dimmable

Who it fitsA chandelier or sconce that already takes candelabra bulbs on a small base.

Listing on Amazon
TJOY 6 Pack A19 LED Bulbs, Soft Warm White 2700K, 60W Equivalent, E26

TJOY 6 Pack A19 LED Bulbs, Soft Warm White 2700K, 60W Equivalent, E26

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

A pack of six bulbs of the plain kind: an E26 base, 2700K soft warm white and dimmable operation. Nothing here asks for a network, a phone or an assistant. What the listing leaves out is how long a bulb is meant to last.

Operated by
Nothing to control

Stated

  • Pack size in the listing: six bulbs
  • Color temperature: 2700K soft warm white
  • a 60 watt equivalent on an E26 base
  • dimmable operation is stated

Not stated

  • No lifetime in hours anywhere in the listing
  • No lumen figure beside the watt equivalent
  • No dimmer type named, just that it dims

Who it fitsA fixture already on a wall switch or a dimmer, where the bulb is expected to do nothing but light.

Listing on Amazon
TJOY LED Edison Light Bulbs, E26 Dimmable Vintage, 8W = 60W Equivalent

Only bulb the listing calls vintage

The only bulb listing here with a vintage filament shape in its words.

TJOY LED Edison Light Bulbs, E26 Dimmable Vintage, 8W = 60W Equivalent

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

An exposed-filament look, which the listing calls a vintage filament shape, on an E26 base at 8W for a 60 watt equivalent. The listing does not say how many bulbs come in the box, so that is the first thing to find out.

Operated by
Nothing to control

Stated

  • a vintage filament shape
  • 8W for a 60 watt equivalent
  • Base: an E26 base
  • Dimming: dimmable operation

Not stated

  • No color temperature in kelvin
  • No count of bulbs in the box
  • No lumens and no lifetime for the filament bulbs

Who it fitsA fixture where the bulb shows, and the look was decided before the wattage.

Listing on Amazon
Lepro A19 E26 LED Bulbs, 9W, 800 Lumens, Daylight 5000K, 5 Pack

Lepro A19 E26 LED Bulbs, 9W, 800 Lumens, Daylight 5000K, 5 Pack

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

A pack of five bulbs that prints its brightness as 800 lumens and its color as 5000K daylight white, on an E26 base at 9W. Unlike the other plain bulbs here, the listing does not mention dimming, which is not the same as saying it cannot dim.

Operated by
Nothing to control

Stated

  • Brightness given in lumens: 800 lumens
  • Color: 5000K daylight white
  • 9W on an E26 base
  • A pack of five bulbs, shape A19

Not stated

  • No dimming stated either way
  • No watt equivalent printed
  • No lifetime in hours for the daylight bulbs

Who it fitsA room lit from a plain on-off switch, where a cooler white was already the plan.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingBaseColor temperatureBrightnessWattsPackDimmingLifetimeRequirements stated
Amazon Basics A19 pack, 2700KE262700K soft whitenot stated9Wsix bulbsdimmable operation10,000 hour lifetime1 of 6
FLSNT E12 candelabraE122700Knot statednot statedsix bulbsdimmable operationnot stated0 of 6
TJOY A19 pack, 2700KE262700K soft warm whitenot statednot statedsix bulbsdimmable operationnot stated0 of 6
TJOY Edison vintage, E26E26not statednot stated8Wnot stateddimmable operationnot stated0 of 6
Lepro A19 pack, 5000KE265000K daylight white800 lumens9Wfive bulbsnot statednot stated0 of 6

Left out because every listing in this group reads the same: operated by (Nothing to control).

Dusk to dawn

1 listing

A single listing that states it switches itself, so there is nothing inside this group to compare and no comparison is drawn.

TORCHSTAR 4-Pack Dusk to Dawn LED Bulb, Outdoor, A19, 5000K

Only self-switching bulb

The only bulb listing here that states dusk to dawn switching.

TORCHSTAR 4-Pack Dusk to Dawn LED Bulb, Outdoor, A19, 5000K

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

The bulb switches itself: the listing states dusk to dawn switching, so the thing a reader controls is nothing at all. It also names outdoor use, which the site repeats as printed and does not expand on. A19 and 5000K complete what is stated.

Operated by
Nothing to control

Stated

  • dusk to dawn switching is stated
  • A pack of four bulbs
  • outdoor use is named by the listing
  • Shape A19, color 5000K

Not stated

  • No base type printed
  • No wattage, lumens or lifetime
  • No word on what the switching responds to

Who it fitsA fixture meant to come on by itself, where nobody wants a schedule, an app or a switch to think about.

Listing on Amazon

Dusk to dawn: a single listing, so there is nothing to set it beside and no table is drawn.

Questions about these listings

Does a plain LED bulb need an app or a hub?

None of the plain bulb listings here names an app, a hub, a network or an assistant. The site reads that as the requirement not coming up, and it does not add one.

What does works with Alexa only mean on the smart bulb?

It is the listing’s own wording: the bulb works with Alexa only. The site takes that at its word. No other assistant is named, and the site confirms no compatibility a listing does not state.

Which bulb listing says how long the bulb lasts?

The Amazon Basics A19 pack, which prints a 10,000 hour lifetime. The listing does not say how the figure was reached, so the site does not either.