SmartLivingBridge

Gear

Tower & Personal Fans

air moved by a remote that came in the box

Eight of the eight fan listings state none of the six requirements: no network, no app, no assistant, no part named for replacement. What they state instead is how they are operated, and five of them name a remote in the box.

Each row reads left to right in a fixed order. A filled cell means the listing states that requirement; a dashed cell means the listing is silent where the requirement could apply; an outlined cell means the requirement does not come up. Every cell is named in words beside the row.

Tower fans

6 listings

Tall fans whose titles say tower. They differ most in what they say about control: a remote, a timer, mechanical control, or nothing at all.

Levoit Tower Fan, 28 ft/s, 28 dB, 36 inch, White

A remote plus a temperature sensor

Of the 8 fan listings, only this one names a temperature sensor, and it names a remote as well.

Levoit Tower Fan, 28 ft/s, 28 dB, 36 inch, White

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A tower fan with a remote, a 12 hour timer and a temperature sensor, at a 36 inch height. The listing also prints 28 decibels; the site passes that on as a figure the listing gives, not as a description of how a room will feel.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • a remote and a 12 hour timer
  • a temperature sensor
  • five speeds and four modes
  • Height stated: a 36 inch height

Not stated

  • No test condition for the decibel figure
  • No app or network, by the listing’s silence
  • No motor type named

Who it fitsA bedroom or office where the timer and the remote matter more than any setup.

Listing on Amazon
PELONIS 30-Inch Oscillating Tower Fan, 3 Speed, Black

Only fan printing a mark

Among the eight fan listings, only this one prints a mark: ETL certification.

PELONIS 30-Inch Oscillating Tower Fan, 3 Speed, Black

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A tower of 30 inches with a remote control and a 7 hour timer, and the fan listing that prints a mark: ETL certification. What ETL is, and what it does not tell anyone, is set out on the marks page rather than in this card.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • a remote control
  • a 7 hour timer
  • ETL certification printed
  • 30 inches and three speeds

Not stated

  • No oscillation angle given
  • No wattage printed
  • No motor or velocity figure

Who it fitsA household that reads the marks before the features and still wants a remote.

Listing on Amazon
DREO Tower Fan, 28 ft/s, 8 Speeds, Black

DREO Tower Fan, 28 ft/s, 8 Speeds, Black

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A tower fan whose listing names a remote and stops there: no app, no network, no assistant, which is why its row has no filled cell. It states eight speeds, four modes and 90 degree oscillation, plus 28 ft per second velocity from a DC motor. The other DREO listing here names a timer and no remote.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • a remote is named
  • eight speeds and four modes
  • 90 degree oscillation
  • 28 ft per second velocity from a DC motor

Not stated

  • No timer mentioned, unlike the other DREO here
  • No height or other dimensions
  • No mark such as ETL

Who it fitsA room where the fan gets adjusted from the sofa and the remote has a drawer to live in.

Listing on Amazon
DREO Tower Fan, DC 28 ft/s, 9 Speeds, Black

Most speeds stated among the fans

It prints nine speeds; no other fan listing here prints as many.

DREO Tower Fan, DC 28 ft/s, 9 Speeds, Black

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The other DREO here: nine speeds and a 12 hour timer, but no remote named, which is the one thing its sibling listing does name. Everything else lines up with that sibling: a DC motor, 90 degree oscillation, four modes, a bladeless form.

Operated by
not stated

Stated

  • nine speeds
  • a 12 hour timer
  • a DC motor at 28 ft per second
  • 90 degree oscillation and four modes

Not stated

  • No remote named, so no control is stated at all
  • No height or size given
  • No mark printed on this DREO

Who it fitsSomeone choosing between the DREO listings who cares more about the timer than the remote.

Listing on Amazon
Amazon Basics 28 inch Oscillating Tower Fan, 3 Speeds, Black

Only mechanical control among the fans

The only fan listing here that states mechanical control.

Amazon Basics 28 inch Oscillating Tower Fan, 3 Speeds, Black

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The listing names no remote; it states mechanical control, which puts this tower with the things operated by hand. It gives 35W, three speeds, 60 degree oscillation and a size of 27.8 by 9.4 by 9.4 inches.

Operated by
A keypad or buttons

Stated

  • mechanical control on the fan itself
  • Power figure: 35W
  • three speeds and 60 degree oscillation
  • Dimensions: 27.8 by 9.4 by 9.4 inches

Not stated

  • No remote named
  • No timer named
  • No air velocity figure

Who it fitsSomeone who would rather reach over to the fan than hunt for a remote, and wants the size printed first.

Listing on Amazon
Honeywell QuietSet Whole Room Oscillating Tower Fan, HYF260, White

Honeywell QuietSet Whole Room Oscillating Tower Fan, HYF260, White

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A brief listing: whole room oscillation and a remote, and nothing more. The word QuietSet is in the title; the listing attaches no figure to it, and neither does the site.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • a remote is named
  • whole room oscillation
  • Model number printed: HYF260
  • Product line in the title: QuietSet

Not stated

  • No speeds, modes or timer
  • No height, wattage or velocity
  • No figure behind the QuietSet name

Who it fitsA reader who already knows this model by its number and only needs the remote confirmed.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingRemoteTimerSpeedsOscillationSize as printedMark printedOperated by
Levoit tower, 36 inchnameda 12 hour timerfive speeds90 degree oscillation36 inch heightnot statedA remote in the box
PELONIS 30 inch towernameda 7 hour timerthree speedsoscillation30 inchesETLA remote in the box
DREO tower with remotenamednot statedeight speeds90 degree oscillationnot statednot statedA remote in the box
DREO tower with timernot stateda 12 hour timernine speeds90 degree oscillationnot statednot statednot stated
Amazon Basics tower, mechanicalnot statednot statedthree speeds60 degree oscillation27.8 by 9.4 by 9.4 inchesnot statedA keypad or buttons
Honeywell HYF260 towernamednot statednot statedwhole room oscillationnot statednot statedA remote in the box

Personal and desk fans

2 listings

The Honeywell table fan was filed among the towers; its listing calls it a personal desk fan, so it sits here. The DR.PREPARE is titled a tower fan and describes a portable desk size, which is why it sits here as well.

DR.PREPARE Tower Fan, 25 dB, 8 Speeds, 16 Inch

Only timer given as a range

The only fan listing here whose timer is a range: a 1 to 8 hour timer.

DR.PREPARE Tower Fan, 25 dB, 8 Speeds, 16 Inch

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

Called a tower fan in its title and described as a 16 inch portable desk size in its listing, which is why it sits with the personal fans. It names a remote, eight speeds and a 1 to 8 hour timer.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • a remote
  • a 1 to 8 hour timer
  • eight speeds and 80 degree oscillation
  • a 16 inch portable desk size

Not stated

  • No test condition for 25 decibels
  • No wattage for the desk tower
  • No air velocity given

Who it fitsA desk with room for something taller than a table fan and shorter than a tower.

Listing on Amazon
Honeywell QuietSet Personal Table Fan, HTF210B, Black

Honeywell QuietSet Personal Table Fan, HTF210B, Black

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The listing calls it a personal desk fan; the catalog filed it among the tower fans, and this site keeps it apart from them. It states oscillation, quiet operation and four levels of power and sound, with no remote and no figure for any of them.

This is a personal table fan, and the catalog filed it among the tower fans. The site keeps it in its own group and does not describe it as a tower.

Operated by
not stated

Stated

  • a personal desk fan by its own description
  • oscillation is stated
  • four levels of power and sound
  • Model number: HTF210B

Not stated

  • No size, wattage or speed figure
  • No remote and no timer on the table fan
  • No figure behind the quiet wording

Who it fitsA desk, which is where the listing’s own words put it.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingRemoteTimerSpeedsOscillationSize as printedOperated by
DR.PREPARE 16 inch desk towernameda 1 to 8 hour timereight speeds80 degree oscillation16 inch portable desk sizeA remote in the box
Honeywell HTF210B table fannot statednot statednot statedoscillationnot statednot stated

Left out because every listing in this group reads the same: mark printed (not stated).

Questions about these listings

Do any of these fans need Wi-Fi or an app?

No fan listing in this category names Wi-Fi, a band, an app or an assistant. That is a statement about the listings, not a promise about the fans.

Why is a table fan on a page about tower fans?

The catalog filed it there. Its listing calls it a personal desk fan, so the site keeps it in a separate group and does not describe it as a tower.

Which fan listings name a timer?

The Levoit, the PELONIS, the DR.PREPARE and the DREO that names no remote. The other DREO names a remote and no timer, and the remaining listings name neither a timer nor a figure for one.