SmartLivingBridge

Gear

Smart Plugs & Remote Outlets

Two ways to switch a socket, and only one of them needs a network

Smart plugs and remote kits sit side by side here. The six smart plug listings name a network band, an app or an assistant; the four remote-control kits name a remote and a range and nothing that has to be set up first. The site repeats amp and watt figures as printed and gives no advice about what may be plugged into any of them or where.

Each row reads left to right in a fixed order. A filled cell means the listing states that requirement; a dashed cell means the listing is silent where the requirement could apply; an outlined cell means the requirement does not come up. Every cell is named in words beside the row.

Smart plugs

6 listings

Listings with Smart Plug in the title. Four of them print the band they need, and ten listings across the catalog name an assistant, most of them here. One prints the words UP Certified, and the site could not confirm any program by that name.

Linkind Matter Smart Plug, 15A/1800W, 4 Pack

Most assistant names among the plugs

Names 5: Matter, Apple Home, Alexa, Siri and Google Home. No other plug listing names as many.

Linkind Matter Smart Plug, 15A/1800W, 4 Pack

3 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networkstated
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appstated
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A long list of names: Matter, Apple Home, Alexa, Siri and Google Home. Naming them is the listing’s claim; the site does not test it or extend it. It still wants 2.4G Wi-Fi only, and it prints 15A and 1800W and ETL certification.

Operated by
An app, A voice assistant

Stated

  • Matter named in the title and the listing
  • app remote control on the Matter plug
  • a timer and schedule
  • 15A and 1800W and ETL certification

Not stated

  • No FCC wording beside the ETL
  • No app named by its name
  • No word on which of the names has to be set up first

Who it fitsA household that has not settled on a single assistant, or runs several, since the listing names each of them.

Listing on Amazon
Kasa Outdoor Smart Plug EP40, 2 Sockets, Black

Only IP figure among the plugs

The only plug listing here that prints an IP figure: IP64 weather resistance.

Kasa Outdoor Smart Plug EP40, 2 Sockets, Black

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The listing prints IP64 weather resistance and two sockets on a single unit, and names Alexa and Google Home. It does not name Wi-Fi, a band or an app, so those cells are dashed. Where it may be used, and with what, belongs to the manufacturer’s instructions; the site gives no advice on it.

Operated by
A voice assistant

Stated

  • two sockets
  • IP64 weather resistance
  • compatibility with Alexa and Google Home
  • ETL certification and no hub required

Not stated

  • No Wi-Fi or band named for the outdoor plug
  • No amp or watt rating printed here
  • No app named on this listing

Who it fitsA reader who wants the resistance figure and the program name printed before reading the manual.

Listing on Amazon
Govee Smart Plug, 15A, 4 Pcs

Only group controller named

The only plug listing here that names a group controller.

Govee Smart Plug, 15A, 4 Pcs

2 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networkstated
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

It writes Google Assistant rather than Google Home, and the site keeps the names apart exactly as printed. The band appears as 2.4G only, next to ETL and FCC certification, a timer function and a group controller.

Operated by
A voice assistant

Stated

  • compatibility with Alexa and Google Assistant
  • 2.4G only
  • ETL and FCC certification
  • a group controller and a timer function

Not stated

  • No app named for the timer or the group
  • No watt figure beside 15A
  • No setup steps described

Who it fitsA household whose assistant goes by the Google Assistant name and whose network runs at 2.4G.

Listing on Amazon
GHome Smart Plug, White

GHome Smart Plug, White

3 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networkstated
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appstated
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

Every networked prerequisite is printed here: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, app remote control and work with Alexa and Google Home. It adds a timer and ETL and FCC listing, program names explained on the marks page.

Operated by
An app, A voice assistant

Stated

  • app remote control
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only for this plug
  • ETL and FCC listing
  • a timer and no hub required

Not stated

  • No amp or watt rating printed
  • No app named by name, only as a kind of control
  • No pack count in the title

Who it fitsA setup where the phone, the network and the assistant are all already in place, because this listing leans on each.

Listing on Amazon
Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, EP10P4, 4-Pack, White

Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, EP10P4, 4-Pack, White

2 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networkstated
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A 4-Pack of plugs by its title, each wanting 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and naming Alexa and Google Home. The listing also prints the words UP Certified; the site could not confirm any program by that name and repeats the words as printed, without guessing what was meant.

Operated by
A voice assistant

Stated

  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, band and limit together
  • work with Alexa and Google Home
  • no hub required
  • Rated in the listing at 15A

Not stated

  • No app named, though the Wi-Fi is
  • No confirmable program behind UP Certified
  • No ETL or FCC wording

Who it fitsA home already on a 2.4 GHz network with Alexa or Google Home in place, the prerequisites this listing names.

Listing on Amazon
Amazon Smart Plug, 2-Pack

Amazon Smart Plug, 2-Pack

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A spare listing: it names Alexa and a simple setup and prints nothing else, not even a network. The dashed cells on its row are the listing’s silences, not a verdict on the plug.

Operated by
A voice assistant

Stated

  • work with Alexa
  • a simple setup, in those words
  • Pack size in the title: 2-Pack
  • Sold under the Amazon name

Not stated

  • No Wi-Fi or band named
  • No amp or watt rating given
  • No app or timer named

Who it fitsA household where Alexa is already set up and the setup itself is the only question.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingBand printedAssistants namedAppMarks printedLoad figuresIn the box
Linkind Matter plug pack2.4GAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, Siri, Matterapp remote controlETL15A and 1800W4 Pack
Kasa outdoor plug EP40not statedAlexa, Google Homenot statedETLnot stated2 Sockets
Govee smart plug pack2.4GAlexa, Google Assistantnot statedETL and FCC15A4 Pcs
GHome smart plug2.4 GHzAlexa, Google Homeapp remote controlETL and FCCnot statednot stated
Kasa Ultra Mini pack2.4 GHzAlexa, Google Homenot statedUP Certified, unconfirmed15A4-Pack
Amazon Smart Plug packnot statedAlexanot statednot statednot stated2-Pack

Left out because every listing in this group reads the same: range (not stated); remote wording (not stated).

Remote-control outlets

4 listings

Kits that come with a remote and name no network, app or assistant. The two pairs here, BN-LINK and Syantek, each carry identical listing text; the kits inside a pair differ only in how many outlets and remotes are in the box, as their titles print. The site says so rather than inventing a difference.

BN-LINK Wireless Remote Control Outlet, 5 Outlets and 2 Remotes, White

BN-LINK Wireless Remote Control Outlet, 5 Outlets and 2 Remotes, White

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

A switch that needs no network at all: a learning code remote system with a 100 ft range, and nothing on its row filled. The listing prints 1200W and 10A and ETL and FCC certification; what those ratings allow is a question for the manufacturer’s manual, not for this card.

Twin of the smaller BN-LINK kit: the listing text is identical, and the titles differ only in how many outlets and remotes are in the box. The site found no other difference.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • a learning code remote system
  • a 100 ft range
  • 1200W and 10A
  • In the box: 5 Outlets and 2 Remotes

Not stated

  • No battery type named for the remotes
  • No timer or schedule in the larger kit
  • No outlet dimensions given

Who it fitsOutlets that are hard to reach, in a home that would rather not add anything to its network.

Listing on Amazon
BN-LINK Wireless Remote Control Outlet, 3 Outlets and 1 Remote, White

BN-LINK Wireless Remote Control Outlet, 3 Outlets and 1 Remote, White

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The same listing text as the larger BN-LINK kit, word for word, with 3 Outlets and 1 Remote in the title instead. The site found no other difference and does not invent one.

Twin of the larger BN-LINK kit: word for word the same listing text, with fewer outlets and remotes in the box.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • Remote system: a learning code remote system
  • Range given: a 100 ft range
  • Load figures: 1200W and 10A
  • Programs: ETL and FCC certification

Not stated

  • Nothing that sets it apart except the count
  • No remote battery wording here either
  • No timer, app or network in the smaller kit

Who it fitsA reader who already knows the larger BN-LINK kit and needs fewer outlets.

Listing on Amazon
Syantek Remote Control Outlet, 5 Outlets and 2 Remotes, White

Syantek Remote Control Outlet, 5 Outlets and 2 Remotes, White

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

Word for word the smaller Syantek listing, with 5 Outlets and 2 Remotes in the title. The count is the difference, and the only one printed.

Twin of the smaller Syantek kit: the same listing text, a larger count of outlets and remotes, and nothing else that differs.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • Kit wording: an expandable remote switch kit
  • Stated range: a range up to 100 ft
  • Both FCC certification and ETL listing
  • Count in the title: 5 Outlets and 2 Remotes

Not stated

  • No load rating printed for the outlets
  • No code-learning wording
  • No battery named for either remote

Who it fitsA reader who wants the larger Syantek count and has read the smaller kit’s listing already.

Listing on Amazon
Syantek Remote Control Outlet, 3 Outlets and 1 Remote, White

Syantek Remote Control Outlet, 3 Outlets and 1 Remote, White

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The listing states an expandable remote switch kit with a range up to 100 ft, FCC certification and ETL listing, and asks for no network, phone or assistant. Unlike the BN-LINK kits, it prints no watt or amp figure.

Twin of the larger Syantek kit: identical listing text, a smaller count in the box, and no other difference printed.

Operated by
A remote in the box

Stated

  • an expandable remote switch kit
  • a range up to 100 ft
  • FCC certification and ETL listing
  • In the box: 3 Outlets and 1 Remote

Not stated

  • No watt or amp figure at all
  • No learning code wording
  • No battery named for the single remote

Who it fitsA reader who wants the smaller of the two Syantek counts, with nothing else changed.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingLoad figuresIn the boxRemote wording
BN-LINK kit, 5 outlets, 2 remotes1200W and 10A5 Outlets and 2 Remoteslearning code remote system
BN-LINK kit, 3 outlets, 1 remote1200W and 10A3 Outlets and 1 Remotelearning code remote system
Syantek kit, 5 outlets, 2 remotesnot stated5 Outlets and 2 Remotesexpandable remote switch kit
Syantek kit, 3 outlets, 1 remotenot stated3 Outlets and 1 Remoteexpandable remote switch kit

Left out because every listing in this group reads the same: band printed (not stated); assistants named (not stated); app (not stated); marks printed (ETL and FCC); range (100 ft).

Questions about these listings

Do the remote-control kits need Wi-Fi?

None of the kit listings names Wi-Fi, an app or an assistant. They name a remote and a range. Anything else they need is a question for the manufacturer’s instructions.

What does UP Certified mean?

The site could not confirm any program by that name and does not guess what was meant. The listing prints the words, and that is all the site can report.

Does the site say what can be plugged into these?

No. It repeats the amp and watt figures as the listings print them and gives no advice about loads, cords or where a plug may be used. Those questions belong to the manufacturer’s instructions and a licensed electrician.