SmartLivingBridge

Gear

Air Purifiers

filters, verified programs, and one machine that is not a purifier

Twelve listings were filed under air purifiers. Ten of them describe a filter. The remaining two are not room air purifiers by their own words: an ozone generator and a refrigerator deodorizer, each kept in a group of its own and never set in a table beside the filter units. The site makes no statement about what any of these machines does to the air in a room.

Each row reads left to right in a fixed order. A filled cell means the listing states that requirement; a dashed cell means the listing is silent where the requirement could apply; an outlined cell means the requirement does not come up. Every cell is named in words beside the row.

Filter air purifiers

10 listings

Listings that name a filter. Seven of them print HEPA or H13 as a word, one prints HEPASilent, which the site does not count as HEPA, and four print AHAM. Coverage is printed on different bases: six give an area with no time attached, two give an area covered in a stated time, and two give no area at all. Figures on different bases are not one number, so the comparison table leaves coverage out and each card prints its own figure as worded.

Levoit Core 300-P Air Purifier, up to 1073 ft², White

HEPA, a percentage and AHAM Verifide together

Of the 12 listings filed here, only this one prints HEPA, 99.97% and AHAM VERIFIDE together.

Levoit Core 300-P Air Purifier, up to 1073 ft², White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

The listing where the filter words and the program words meet: a HEPA filter, a figure of 99.97% and AHAM VERIFIDE. The percentage is the seller’s claim; what HEPA and AHAM Verifide refer to is set out, with their publishers linked, on the marks pages. Coverage is printed as up to 1073 square feet, with no time attached.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
up to 1073 square feet (no time given)

Stated

  • a HEPA filter
  • AHAM VERIFIDE printed
  • A figure of 99.97%, as the seller’s claim
  • a sleep mode

Not stated

  • No filter replacement interval
  • No time attached to the coverage figure
  • No app, network or assistant named

Who it fitsSomeone who reads program names first and wants the filter class named in the same listing.

Listing on Amazon
COWAY Airmega Mighty2 AP-1512N(W) Air Purifier, up to 1,800 ft²

Only IEST certification printed

The only listing filed here that prints IEST certified HEPA.

COWAY Airmega Mighty2 AP-1512N(W) Air Purifier, up to 1,800 ft²

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

Its HEPA claim names a program: IEST certified HEPA. IEST publishes a recommended practice for HEPA filters, linked on the HEPA page; the listing gives no certificate detail, and neither does the site. It also names an active carbon filter and calls itself the next generation of the AP-1512HH.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
up to 1,800 square feet (no time given)

Stated

  • IEST certified HEPA
  • an active carbon filter
  • coverage up to 1,800 square feet
  • Named as the next generation of the AP-1512HH

Not stated

  • No AHAM Verifide or other appliance program
  • No time attached to the coverage figure here
  • No controls named at all

Who it fitsA reader who knows the AP-1512HH and wants to see what this listing claims to follow.

Listing on Amazon
LEVOIT Vital 200S-P Smart Air Purifier, up to 1875 ft², White

Only air quality monitor named

The only listing filed here that names an air quality monitor.

LEVOIT Vital 200S-P Smart Air Purifier, up to 1875 ft², White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantsilent
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

A Wi-Fi unit that names neither an app nor an assistant, so the listing leaves open how the Wi-Fi is used. It prints AHAM VERIFIDE, a HEPA sleep mode and an air quality monitor, and coverage up to 1875 square feet with no time attached.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
up to 1875 square feet (no time given)

Stated

  • Wi-Fi is named in the listing
  • AHAM VERIFIDE
  • an air quality monitor
  • a HEPA sleep mode

Not stated

  • No app named for the Wi-Fi
  • No band named for the Wi-Fi either
  • No test condition for 27 decibels

Who it fitsA reader who wants a program name and a Wi-Fi mention in the same listing.

Listing on Amazon
WINIX 5510 Air Purifier, up to 1881 ft² in 1 hr

Only purifier naming an app

Among the listings filed here, only this one names an app: app support.

WINIX 5510 Air Purifier, up to 1881 ft² in 1 hr

2 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantsilent
  • Phone and appstated
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

The purifier listing that names an app, as app support, without saying what network the app reaches it over. Its coverage carries a time, up to 1881 square feet in one hour, which is exactly why the site does not line it up against figures that carry none.

Operated by
An app
Coverage
up to 1881 square feet in one hour (with a time)

Stated

  • app support
  • true HEPA
  • a deodorization carbon filter
  • an auto mode

Not stated

  • No Wi-Fi or band named for the app
  • No program such as AHAM Verifide here
  • No assistant named

Who it fitsA household that manages devices from a phone and wants the filter class printed too.

Listing on Amazon
BLUEAIR Blue 511i Max Air Purifier, up to 1,138 ft²

BLUEAIR Blue 511i Max Air Purifier, up to 1,138 ft²

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantsilent
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

It names Wi-Fi and then says nothing about a band, an app or an assistant, so those cells are dashed. Its filter words are HEPASilent filtration, a seller’s name that the site does not count as HEPA, next to AHAM verification and a washable pre-filter.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
up to 1,138 square feet (no time given)

Stated

  • Wi-Fi is named
  • AHAM verification
  • a washable pre-filter
  • an auto mode

Not stated

  • No band printed for the Wi-Fi
  • No app or assistant by name
  • No time attached to up to 1,138 square feet

Who it fitsA household that expects to find the app on its own and wants the program named in the listing.

Listing on Amazon
LEVOIT Vital 100S-P Air Purifier, up to 1073 ft², White

LEVOIT Vital 100S-P Air Purifier, up to 1073 ft², White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantsilent
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

Its coverage is printed as up to 1073 square feet, the same wording the Core 300-P uses; the site notes the match and draws nothing from it. It names Wi-Fi, a washable pre-filter, a smart monitor and AHAM VERIFIDE.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
up to 1073 square feet (no time given)

Stated

  • a washable pre-filter
  • Wi-Fi with a smart monitor
  • AHAM VERIFIDE on the listing
  • a HEPA sleep mode as worded

Not stated

  • No app named beside the Wi-Fi
  • Wi-Fi without a band
  • No decibel figure, unlike the other Vital listing

Who it fitsA reader deciding between the Vital listings, who will find the program and the Wi-Fi wording in each.

Listing on Amazon
HAP602 Air Purifier, 2,400 ft² in 30 mins, White

Only purifier naming a PM2.5 readout

The only listing filed here that names a PM2.5 readout.

HAP602 Air Purifier, 2,400 ft² in 30 mins, White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

Coverage here is worded as work done in a time, cleaning of 2,400 square feet in thirty minutes, which is a different kind of statement from a room size and is not set beside one. It names three-stage true HEPA filtration, a touch display and a PM2.5 readout, and no brand beyond the model name.

Operated by
A keypad or buttons
Coverage
2,400 square feet in thirty minutes (with a time)

Stated

  • three-stage true HEPA filtration
  • a touch display
  • a PM2.5 readout
  • 360 degree airflow

Not stated

  • No brand name in the title
  • No program name printed
  • No test condition for 20 decibels

Who it fitsSomeone who wants the controls on the unit’s own display rather than in an app.

Listing on Amazon
FULMINARE H13 True HEPA Air Purifier with Night Light

Only night light among these listings

The only listing filed here that names a night light.

FULMINARE H13 True HEPA Air Purifier with Night Light

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

The listing that prints H13, a class name the site could not tie to a published document it can link, so the letters are repeated as printed and not explained. It also names a night light and a small portable body, and prints no coverage figure.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
not stated

Stated

  • an H13 true HEPA filter
  • a night light
  • a small portable body
  • quiet operation, as worded

Not stated

  • No coverage figure
  • No program such as AHAM Verifide on this unit
  • No replacement filter named

Who it fitsA bedside table where a night light was already on the list.

Listing on Amazon
VOOPNU Air Purifier DH-JH12, up to 1076 ft², White

VOOPNU Air Purifier DH-JH12, up to 1076 ft², White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

Its filter is described as a high efficiency filter, without the letters HEPA and without a program name, so neither mark page counts it. Coverage is printed as up to 1076 square feet, a figure the site does not rank against any other.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
up to 1076 square feet (no time given)

Stated

  • a high efficiency filter
  • three speeds and a timer
  • an aroma function
  • a 360 degree intake

Not stated

  • No filter class or program printed
  • No test condition for 22 decibels
  • No time attached to the coverage wording

Who it fitsA reader comfortable with a plain filter description and no printed program.

Listing on Amazon
Levoit Core Mini-P Air Purifier, White

Levoit Core Mini-P Air Purifier, White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

The Levoit the listing calls a small purifier, with a filter and a fragrance sponge: parts with a life of their own. It prints no coverage figure and no program name. The list of targets is the seller’s list, and the site neither repeats it nor weighs it.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
not stated

Stated

  • a filter is named
  • a fragrance sponge is named
  • Described as a small purifier
  • Model in the title: Core Mini-P

Not stated

  • No coverage figure printed
  • No filter class such as HEPA
  • No program such as AHAM Verifide

Who it fitsA reader who wants the part list first: here it is a filter and a sponge, and nothing else.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingFilter wordsProgram printedNetwork or appCarbon filterRequirements statedOperated by
Levoit Core 300-Pa HEPA filterAHAM VERIFIDEnot statednot stated1 of 6not stated
Coway Airmega Mighty2IEST certified HEPAIEST certifiednot statedan active carbon filter1 of 6not stated
Levoit Vital 200S-Pa HEPA sleep modeAHAM VERIFIDEWi-Finot stated1 of 6not stated
WINIX 5510true HEPAnot statedapp supporta deodorization carbon filter2 of 6An app
Blueair Blue 511i MaxHEPASilent filtrationAHAM verificationWi-Finot stated1 of 6not stated
Levoit Vital 100S-Pa HEPA sleep modeAHAM VERIFIDEWi-Finot stated1 of 6not stated
HAP602 with touch displaythree-stage true HEPA filtrationnot statednot statednot stated1 of 6A keypad or buttons
FULMINARE H13, night lightan H13 true HEPA filternot statednot statednot stated1 of 6not stated
VOOPNU DH-JH12a high efficiency filternot statednot statednot stated1 of 6not stated
Levoit Core Mini-Pa filternot statednot statednot stated1 of 6not stated

An ozone generator

1 listing

The listing states an ozone machine, and its title calls it an ozone generator. The catalog filed it among the air purifiers. This site does not call it an air purifier, does not compare it with the filter units, and gives it no badge. The site says nothing about ozone in its own words; what follows comes from the published documents linked here. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency publishes a page titled “Ozone Generators that are Sold as Air Cleaners”, which also states: “EPA does not certify air cleaning devices.” California’s regulation on Indoor Air Cleaning Devices, Cal. Code Regs. tit. 17, §§ 94800–94810, refers in § 94804 to an ozone emission standard of 0.050 ppm. Neither document is summarized further here.

Published documents for this group

Ozone Generator 48,000 mg, O3 Machine, Black

Ozone Generator 48,000 mg, O3 Machine, Black

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The listing states an ozone machine of 48,000 mg, and its title calls it an Ozone Generator. This site says nothing about ozone in its own words; the documents regulators publish on ozone generators are linked in this group, above the card.

The listing states an ozone generator. The catalog filed it among the air purifiers; this site does not call it an air purifier, does not compare it with any of them, and gives it no badge.

Operated by
not stated

Stated

  • Named in its title as an Ozone Generator
  • A figure of 48,000 mg, as printed
  • Also titled O3 Machine
  • Color in the title: Black

Not stated

  • No program or mark of any kind
  • No filter or other replaceable part
  • No control of any kind named

Who it fitsNot described. The site suggests no use for this listing.

Listing on Amazon

An ozone generator: a single listing, so there is nothing to set it beside and no table is drawn.

A refrigerator deodorizer

1 listing

A single listing that states a deodorizer for a refrigerator. It was filed with the room air purifiers; by its own description it is not one, and it is not compared with them.

Purriko Refrigerator Deodorizer, Reusable

Purriko Refrigerator Deodorizer, Reusable

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waternot raised
  • Doornot raised
  • Partnot raised

The listing states a reusable fridge deodorizer: something that goes in a refrigerator, filed by the catalog among room air purifiers. There is nothing to switch, set or connect, which is why it also appears on the page for things with nothing to control.

This is a deodorizer for a refrigerator. The catalog filed it among the air purifiers; this site does not call it a room air purifier and does not compare it with them.

Operated by
Nothing to control
Coverage
not stated

Stated

  • a reusable fridge deodorizer
  • Described as replacing baking soda and activated carbon
  • Called Reusable in its title
  • Named for the Refrigerator

Not stated

  • No size or count in the box
  • No program or mark on the deodorizer
  • No stated interval for reuse

Who it fitsA refrigerator, which is the only place the listing names.

Listing on Amazon

A refrigerator deodorizer: a single listing, so there is nothing to set it beside and no table is drawn.

Questions about these listings

Is the ozone generator an air purifier?

This site does not call it one. Its listing states an ozone machine, and the catalog filed it among the air purifiers; here it sits in its own group and in no comparison, with the published documents linked beside it.

Why are the coverage figures not compared?

They are printed on different bases. Some give an area and no time, some give an area covered in a stated time, and some give none. The site will not turn those into one number, so each card prints its own figure as worded.

Does HEPA on a listing mean the site checked the filter?

No. HEPA, H13 and a percentage are the listings’ own words. What HEPA refers to is set out on the HEPA and H13 page with EPA’s description linked; the site checks nothing itself.