SmartLivingBridge

Gear

Dehumidifiers

capacity in two units that do not compare

The capacity figures in this category come in units that do not compare. Four listings print a rating in pints, two print a tank size in ounces, and two print no capacity at all. ENERGY STAR describes dehumidifier capacity as water removed per day, reported in pints/day; an ounce figure on these listings is the size of a tank. The two are kept in separate groups and never set in one column, and the site says nothing about what any of these units does to a room.

Sources for this page

Each row reads left to right in a fixed order. A filled cell means the listing states that requirement; a dashed cell means the listing is silent where the requirement could apply; an outlined cell means the requirement does not come up. Every cell is named in words beside the row.

Units rated in pints

4 listings

Listings that print a pint figure. One of them writes a time unit after the pints; the rest print pints alone. Each card repeats the figure as written.

Midea 50 Pint Dehumidifier, 4,500 sq ft

Only continuous drainage stated

The only dehumidifier listing here that names continuous drainage.

Midea 50 Pint Dehumidifier, 4,500 sq ft

3 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waterstated
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

The other Midea, rated at 50 pints: where the Cube names a tank and a hose, this listing names continuous drainage and a reusable air filter. It keeps the Wi-Fi and work with Alexa of its sibling, with no band and no app named.

Operated by
A voice assistant
Coverage
coverage of 4,500 square feet (no time given)
Capacity
50 pints

Stated

  • continuous drainage
  • a reusable air filter
  • Energy Star beside a rating of 50 pints
  • Wi-Fi and work with Alexa on this Midea

Not stated

  • No tank named at all
  • No band or app named
  • No time unit printed with the pints

Who it fitsA space that already has somewhere for continuous drainage to go, which the listing names and does not describe.

Listing on Amazon
AEOCKY Dehumidifier, up to 80 Pint per day, 5,500 sq ft

Only pint figure given per day

The only dehumidifier listing here whose pint figure carries a time unit: up to 80 pints per day.

AEOCKY Dehumidifier, up to 80 Pint per day, 5,500 sq ft

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waterstated
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

It writes its rating with a time unit, up to 80 pints per day, where the other pint figures here print pints alone. It names a drain hose and an intelligent humidistat and prints Energy Star.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
coverage of 5,500 square feet (no time given)
Capacity
up to 80 pints per day

Stated

  • up to 80 pints per day
  • a drain hose on the AEOCKY
  • an intelligent humidistat
  • Energy Star printed

Not stated

  • No tank figure printed
  • No network, app or assistant here
  • No filter named in the AEOCKY listing

Who it fitsA reader comparing ratings who wants the time unit written out, not assumed.

Listing on Amazon
Midea Cube 20 Pint Dehumidifier, 1,500 sq ft

Midea Cube 20 Pint Dehumidifier, 1,500 sq ft

2 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantstated
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Waterstated
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

Rated at 20 pints, with no time unit printed beside the pints, next to a large water tank and a drain hose: the water has two places named to go. It also names Wi-Fi and work with Alexa, and prints Energy Star.

Operated by
A voice assistant
Coverage
coverage of 1,500 square feet (no time given)
Capacity
20 pints

Stated

  • 20 pints
  • a large water tank and a drain hose
  • Energy Star on the Cube
  • Wi-Fi and work with Alexa

Not stated

  • No band named for the Wi-Fi
  • No tank size in any unit
  • No app named on the Cube listing

Who it fitsA space where both a tank and a hose are options, in a home that already speaks to Alexa.

Listing on Amazon
Frigidaire 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Wi-Fi

Frigidaire 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Wi-Fi

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networksilent
  • Assistantsilent
  • Phone and appsilent
  • Watersilent
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

A rating of 50 pints and Wi-Fi, and then very little: no tank, no hose, no app, no program. The dashed cells on its row are where a listing like this could have said something and did not.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
not stated
Capacity
50 pints

Stated

  • 50 pints on the Frigidaire
  • Wi-Fi in the title and the listing
  • portability
  • quiet operation, as worded

Not stated

  • No tank, hose or drainage named
  • No app or band for the Wi-Fi
  • No coverage figure and no program

Who it fitsA reader prepared to find the tank and drain details in the manual, since the listing prints neither.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingCapacity as printedTank or drain namedProgram printedNetwork or assistantFilterQuiet wording
Midea, 50 pints, drainage50 pintscontinuous drainageEnergy StarWi-Fi and work with Alexaa reusable air filternot stated
AEOCKY, 80 pints per dayup to 80 pints per daya drain hoseEnergy Starnot statednot statednot stated
Midea Cube, 20 pints20 pintsa large water tank; a drain hoseEnergy StarWi-Fi and work with Alexanot statednot stated
Frigidaire, 50 pints, Wi-Fi50 pintsnot statednot statedWi-Finot statedquiet operation

Left out because every listing in this group reads the same: decibels (not stated).

Units with no pint rating

3 listings

Listings that print no pint figure. The BEDRED and the TABYIK print a tank size in ounces; the ToLife prints no capacity in any unit.

BEDRED Dehumidifier, 95 oz tank, 1,000 sq ft, Black

BEDRED Dehumidifier, 95 oz tank, 1,000 sq ft, Black

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waterstated
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

Its capacity is a container, a 95 ounce tank, not a rating of water taken out over time, so it cannot be set beside the pint figures in the other group. It names auto shut off and a seven color ambient light.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
coverage of 1,000 square feet (no time given)
Capacity
a 95 ounce tank

Stated

  • a 95 ounce tank
  • auto shut off
  • coverage of 1,000 square feet on the BEDRED
  • a seven color ambient light

Not stated

  • No pint rating in any time unit
  • No hose or drainage for the BEDRED
  • No program such as Energy Star

Who it fitsA reader who wants the tank size stated in ounces and expects no hose.

Listing on Amazon
TABYIK Dehumidifier, 35 oz tank, 280 sq ft, White

TABYIK Dehumidifier, 35 oz tank, 280 sq ft, White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Waterstated
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

The listing states a 35 ounce tank and coverage of 280 square feet, figures of a different kind from a pint rating. It adds auto shut off and a seven color light.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
coverage of 280 square feet (no time given)
Capacity
a 35 ounce tank

Stated

  • a 35 ounce tank
  • coverage of 280 square feet
  • auto shut off on the TABYIK
  • a seven color light

Not stated

  • No pint rating on the TABYIK
  • No test condition for 28 decibels
  • No hose, drain or program

Who it fitsA reader who wants both a tank size and a coverage figure, with no network involved.

Listing on Amazon
ToLife Dehumidifier, 1,000 sq ft, White

ToLife Dehumidifier, 1,000 sq ft, White

0 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Watersilent
  • Doornot raised
  • Partsilent

The listing gives coverage of 1,000 square feet and no capacity in any unit, neither pints nor ounces, and no tank. It sits with the units that print no pint rating because that is the one thing the site can say for certain.

Operated by
not stated
Coverage
coverage of 1,000 square feet (no time given)
Capacity
not stated

Stated

  • coverage of 1,000 square feet
  • auto shut-off
  • a portable body
  • a seven color LED light

Not stated

  • No capacity in pints or ounces
  • No tank or hose named on the ToLife
  • No program or mark

Who it fitsA reader who will look for the capacity in the manual, since the listing leaves it out.

Listing on Amazon
Comparison of what each listing in this group states
ListingCapacity as printedTank or drain namedDecibelsQuiet wording
BEDRED, 95 ounce tanka 95 ounce tanka 95 ounce tanknot statedquiet operation
TABYIK, 35 ounce tanka 35 ounce tanka 35 ounce tank28 decibelsnot stated
ToLife, no capacity statednot statednot statednot statednot stated

Left out because every listing in this group reads the same: program printed (not stated); network or assistant (not stated); filter (not stated).

Renewable filling

1 listing

The Eva-Dry states a wireless unit with a renewable filling and prints no capacity, tank or coverage. It is a different machine from everything else filed here, and it sits alone.

Eva-Dry E-333 Wireless Mini Dehumidifier, White

Only renewable filling

The only dehumidifier listing here that names a renewable filling.

Eva-Dry E-333 Wireless Mini Dehumidifier, White

1 of 6 stated

  • 2.4 GHz networknot raised
  • Assistantnot raised
  • Phone and appnot raised
  • Watersilent
  • Doornot raised
  • Partstated

The listing states a wireless mini dehumidifier with a renewable filling and prints no pints, no ounces and no coverage. It is filed with the dehumidifiers and kept in its own group, because nothing it states can be set beside anything the others state.

It states that it is wireless and runs on a renewable filling, and it prints no pint rating. It is a different machine from the rest of this category and has a group of its own.

Operated by
Nothing to control
Coverage
not stated
Capacity
not stated

Stated

  • Wireless in its title
  • a renewable filling
  • Mini in its title
  • Model: E-333

Not stated

  • No capacity in any unit
  • No word on where collected water goes
  • No coverage figure for the E-333

Who it fitsA reader who wants a unit its listing calls wireless and will read the manual for the rest.

Listing on Amazon

Renewable filling: a single listing, so there is nothing to set it beside and no table is drawn.

Questions about these listings

Can a pint rating be compared with an ounce tank?

Not as printed. ENERGY STAR describes capacity as water removed per day, in pints per day; an ounce figure on these listings is the size of a tank. The site keeps them apart and does not convert one into the other.

Where does the water go?

Each card says what its listing names: a tank, a drain hose, continuous drainage, or nothing. The site gives no instructions for connecting a hose or a drain; that belongs to the manufacturer’s manual.

What does Energy Star on a dehumidifier listing tell a reader?

That the listing prints the name of the program. What ENERGY STAR is, who administers it and where its dehumidifier criteria are published is set out on the Energy Star page.